Elfquest on Paper

One of the interesting things about visiting the Columbia archives and seeing Wendy Pini’s papers was actually seeing the paper.  I found the following image of pre-production work online in issue #21 found here.  While digital makes many things accessible, you can’t really see the paper.  Not seeing the paper, one might not think that it matters.

Clipboard07

However, what I found fascinating was the amount of Elfquest artwork and ideas being worked out on lined notebook paper … the same kind with the three-ring binder holes, blue lines across, and the one red line down the side that I used to draw on when I was bored in high school.  You know the kind where if you draw in ink on both sides you can see the ink from the other side seeping through.

P1110525

Looking down and seeing her work on that paper was a very grounding moment for me.  It made me feel more connected to Wendy Pini as an artist.  While I’m no great artist myself, it’s nice to see that no matter where we go with our drawings that many of us start our ideas out in the same place on the same kind of paper.

Leave a comment